The Proposal

September 27, 2018

 

In my opinion...

 

I enjoyed Valentina, and was looking forward to reading 'The Proposal', without really having any concept of what it may be about.

 

It turned out that it is an incredibly creepy and uncomfortable book to read. The characters are horribly real, I can still imagine Ryan now. I felt a sense of unease throughout 'The Proposal' which kept me hooked.

 

The story is well written, rapidly moving forward with one twist after another, using a number of different, very effective techniques; blog, diary and comments from Ryan.

 

We are told from the beginning that if we're reading this book, our narrator is dead, which makes us complicit in the story, but all the way through I kept wondering if …...maybe not? After all we were in the presence of an unreliable narrator.

 

The ending is clever- and answered my many questions.

 

Thank you Netgalley & Bookouture for the opportunity to read this ARC

 

 

Want to know more?

 

 

The first thing you should know, dear reader, is that I am dead…’

 

Teacher Pippa wants a second chance. Recently divorced and unhappy at work, she uproots her life to renovate a beautiful farmhouse in the countryside, determined to make a fresh start. But Pippa soon realises: your troubles are never far behind.

 

When Pippa meets blue-eyed Ryan Marks, he is funny, charming, and haunted by his past. He might just be the answer to all her problems. But how well does she really know him?

 

She knows the story of his life, the pain that stays with him, the warmth of his smile and the smell of his skin. She knows he can make her laugh over a glass of wine.

 

Pippa can tell truth from lies. She’d know if she were in danger. Wouldn’t she?

 

From Amazon chart bestseller S.E. Lynes, The Proposal is a page-turning and utterly gripping thriller about the lengths we will go to for someone we love. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, The Woman in the Window and The Wife Between Us.

 

 

My rating...

 

A very unsettled four glasses of something strong!

 

 

 

 

Please reload