The Lighthouse by Fran Dorricott


In my opinion...


As always I love a story set in a closed room environment- in this case a lighthouse on a Scottish island. In addition to the usual psychological thriller elements that are then to be expected, this novel goes one step further introducing a ghostly twist.


I've not read any of the author's previous novels, so wasn't sure what to expect- but she introduces a fascinating cast of characters, all of which suspect each other of being involved in the mysterious events that happen- and I also suspected all of them in turn.


It is an addictive read & sometimes I did ask myself what I was doing reading it late at night when confronted with some particularly creepy moment. The final twist was very unsettling!


I will certainly now look out for more novels by this writer.



Want to know more?


No one expected them to go there. The question is: will any of them leave?

Six friends travel to a remote island north of the Scottish Highlands for an old school reunion. They’ve rented The Lighthouse – a stunning, now abandoned building that was once notorious for deaths at sea. On the first evening, someone goes missing. The group search all through the night to no avail. But when the five remaining friends return to the lighthouse early the next morning, they are shocked to find James inside. He’s looks terrified – but won’t say a word about where he’s been. The party vow to put the strange night behind them and enjoy the rest of their stay, but when more unexplained things begin to occur, tensions escalate. It’s clear James knows something, but nothing will persuade him to give up the secrets of the island. Is he protecting his friends from a terrible truth, or leading them into more danger?

A chilling, gripping and powerfully atmospheric suspense novel with a gothic edge, perfect for fans of The Hunting Party and The Sanatorium.



My rating....


A very creepy, unsettled 4 glasses




Thank you AvonBooksUK & Netgalley for my ARC